Featured Members

Judy Kim, MD,MS, Colin Liphart, MD, MS, and Velinka Medic, MD, MS

Congratulations to Drs. Judy Kim, Colin Liphart, and Velinka Medic for receiving the 2022 Wisconsin Medical Society Foundation Summer Fellowship made possible by the Henry and Irene Anderson Fund. This fellowship will support a research project the team is spearheading entitled Visual Acuity Outcomes Following Macular Hole and Epiretinal Membrane Surgeries; Big Data Insights from the Sight Outcomes Research Collaborative (SOURCE) Database.

Lindsey Delott, MD, MS

Lindsey B. De Lott, an assistant professor of ophthalmology and visual sciences as well as neurology, will be studying optic neuritis, an uncommon condition that occurs when inflammation in the optic nerve causes an acute, often severe disruption in vision in one or both eyes. The study will bring together expertise of clinicians, statisticians, data analysts, and others.

Brian Stagg, MD, MS

Brian Stagg has won the David L. Epstein Clinical Research Award from the Chandler Grant Glaucoma Society for his project, Predictive modeling to provider personalized recommendations for testing frequency for patients with glaucoma. In prior work, I developed a statistical model that calculates a personalized frequency for when a patient should undergo visual field testing. I will use the funds from the David Epstein Clinical Research Award to refine and evaluate this statistical calculator using data from the Sight OUtcomes Research CollaboartivE (SOURCE) repository. The size and diversity of SOURCE will allow me to obtain generalizable results that can be used to improve glaucoma care. This research would not be possible without access to SOURCE.